BOS - Online Surveys

powerful, flexible online surveys

Deleting respondents from a respondent list ADVANCED

This Help page applies to surveys where survey access control has been enabled and a respondent list has been created.

You can delete respondents from your respondent list at any time.  Respondents can either be deleted individually or all at once.

Please be aware that:

  • Deleting respondents is a permanent action and there is no ‘Undo’ option.
  • Respondent records cannot be retrieved once they have been deleted.
  • Even if you add a deleted respondent back in with exactly the same details, BOS will treat this as a new respondent.
  • If you only need to amend a respondent record, please see our Help page on changing respondent details rather than deleting the respondent and adding them back in again.
  • Deleting respondents from your respondent list will not remove any information from the survey responses.  If you have captured information from your respondent list in your survey responses through the use of pre-populated questions, this information will remain in the response data even if the respondent list is deleted.

To delete respondents individually:

  1. On your Dashboard dashboard-icon, locate your survey and click Distribute.
  2. Go to survey access control icon Survey access control.
  3. Locate the relevant respondent record by typing the username or email address associated with that record into the Filter by username to email box at the top of the respondent list.
  4. Tick the box to the left of the respondent record to select it.  The red Delete selected button will appear below the respondent list.
  5. Click Delete selected.  This will permanently delete the respondent record.

To delete all respondents at once:

  1. On your Dashboard dashboard-icon, locate your survey and click Distribute.
  2. Go to survey access control icon Survey access control.
  3. Under “Respondent export / import”, click Import respondents.
  4. In the Upload Respondents page, tick the “Delete all existing credentials” box.
  5. Click Save.  This will permanently delete all respondent records.