BOS - Online Surveys

powerful, flexible online surveys

Removing a user from your account ADVANCED

This page is for administrators and Primary Contacts of Project or Organisation type accounts.

If you want to remove a user’s access to their BOS account, you have two options. You can:

  • Lock their user account so they cannot log in until it is activated again.
  • Remove the user from the account. This action is not reversible and may result in ‘orphaned surveys’ (surveys that are inaccessible to any user) in an Organisation account.  Please see the relevant section below for further information.

To lock a user account:

  1. On your Dashboard dashboard-icon, click on Manage in the top right corner and select your account name.
  2. Click on the Users tab. This page lists all users currently registered in the account.
  3. Find the user whose account you want to lock and click on their username. This will open the Edit user page.
  4. Deselect the Active tick box.
  5. Click Save.

The user is now labelled ‘LOCKED’. To unlock their account, repeat the steps above and tick the Active box.

To remove a user from the account:

  1. On your Dashboard dashboard-icon, click on Manage in the top right corner and select your account name.
  2. Click on the Users tab. This page lists all users currently registered in the account.
  3. Find the user you want to remove and click on their username. This will open the Edit user page.
  4. Click Remove from this account. This will open a confirmation page listing any surveys that will be reassigned or become orphaned when the user is deleted.
    • Organisation account administrators – please ensure you have read and understood the information provided below, and taken any necessary action to ensure surveys are properly handed over, before proceeding to delete the user.
  5. Click Proceed to delete this user.

Important note for Organisation account administrators

In an Organisation account, the survey author is the only user who holds full permissions on a survey in the first instance.  The survey author must explicitly share the survey with other users if they wish for other users to be able to access the survey.

When a user account is deleted, ‘ownership’ of any surveys created by the deleted user will be assigned to another user, but this will not confer any additional permissions on the new owner.  If the user who gains ownership on the survey does not hold any permissions on the survey, they will not be able to perform any actions on the survey.

It is therefore important to ensure that, where applicable, surveys are handed over to someone else (i.e. another user is granted full permissions on the surveys) before the user account is deleted otherwise the surveys may become ‘orphaned’ (inaccessible to any user).